Weekly Tip #8: Bee Easy

Screen Shot 2016-11-03 at 5.14.49 PM

These Weekly Tips are a reflective elaboration from my speech at the 2016 Muslim Women’s Literary Conference: “Just Let Me Bee: Finding Your Creative Niche”

This week I’m taking it easy…easy like Sunday morning. I don’t think I’ve been very easy on myself lately. Because I’ve been sick about three times in the past 30 days. Sickness is exhausting. But we learn from our mistakes. Self-care is a part of my to-do list for 2018 onwards. Self-care so I can other-care.

In learning from the bee, she is very easy on herself and others. She doesn’t break other forms of life. She doesn’t apply too much pressure. In drinking nectar, she hovers over the stamen, the most delicate part of a flower, so as not to break it, even though she is heavier than the flower and has flown miles just to reach it. She probably wants to rest, but she keeps her wings flapping in order to not apply too much pressure. She isn’t demanding and she doesn’t cause corruption. She is wise–she knows that there is time for work and time for rest. She works when it is best for her to work, and rests when it is best for her to rest. Be discerning on your timing for things like the bee–know when to work and when to rest, when to demand and when to let slide, when to take it easy and when to hustle. The bee is balanced…find your balance on the scale of life. Find your balance so that you don’t break. Find your balance so that you can be easy. Find your balance so you don’t fall off of the path that you were created to walk upon.

Leave a comment