The Yellow Month

I was originally going to call this post “mellow yellow”, but after researching the perverse history of that word (please don’t look it up–curiosity killed the cat!), I couldn’t bring myself to use it to describe an Islamic month. So “The Yellow Month” will just have to do.

When I looked up this month, most of all the historical events that I found had to do with deaths and martyrdoms. It was pretty depressing, but then I found two events that happened that are very significant to me. Hassan ibn Ali (ra), the grandson of the Prophet (saws), was martyred on the 28th of this month. But my husband, also named Hassan :), was born on the 24th of this month.

Safar is the second month of the Islamic calendar, and it debuted the evening of January 4th. It’s meaning is empty and yellow. Historically, the houses would empty during this month because the prohibition of not going to war was lifted with the end of Muharram. As for the significance of the color yellow, it seems that during this month, the leaves of the trees were turning yellow. It was autumn when this month was given its name.

Well, right here in the USA, it’s not autumn–it’s the dead of winter. But I’m still feeling the meaning of this month internally–until the sun comes out again and warms me up, I’m feeling a pale yellow and pretty empty inside. I think my inspiration is dependent on the weather and what new things I’m able to see, feel, and be a part of. Why is there never anything to do outside in the winter months? All the great cultural events seem to be saved for the summer–it’s pretty frustrating! I’m getting housesick because my house is not empty! I can’t wait until spring!

Leave a Reply

