A Novel Idea…

I was pretty depressed yesterday. I’ve been trying to find a playgroup that I can get Noora to here without me having to depend on a ride. After Palestine, I believe we both feel bored at home and a little more social. We aren’t quite fitting into our previous niches of being stay-at-home gals. So I found a Storytime playgroup at the public library up the street, but we missed the bus to catch it. We got up too late and didn’t have our extra car seat which would enable me to take a taxi. It started a series of breakdowns on both Noora’s and my part. She did the crying and kicking and dragging of feet enough for both of us. So I won’t mention the details of my tantrum.

But then a little light in the form of a letter…I heard some buzz about November being National Novel Writing Month. There’s a contest of some sort to write a novel in 30 days…50,000 words in a month. And somehow, even by hearing of it through an email not directly addressed to me, I feel some sort of pressure to take up the challenge.

I don’t know how I’m going to do this. I don’t know if I can stick with it.  Just the other day, I bought the book First Draft in 30 Days. And though the idea of writing a whole book in 30 days is appealing, I don’t even have time to read the book about writing a book in 30 days. I guess this challenge must be the answer. It’ll require me to get down to the nitty gritty and learn as I go along. I guess this is the drive to make me do what the book says, instead of just reading it. It will be a lesson in time management for sure. Because with the bills, the baby, article deadlines, and Eid on its way, I don’t know how I could accomplish writing a whole novel in 30 days.

You know, I’m constantly receiving prods from family and friends to keep writing. When I was blogging in Jerusalem, so many people would call to ask me if the next post was ready to be published. LOL, if it was, it would’ve been published! People were driving me crazy! I don’t know why I want to do this to myself…it must be some form of masochism. Why should I put myself through this chaos? What’s the point of the stress of trying to meet a deadline that I impose upon myself when I have other stresses to worry about? I’m not sure if there is a prize beyond that intrinsic prize of knowing that I’ve finished something I’ve been waiting to do for months…years…but I think I want to do it. I think I owe it to myself to do something that I love doing…for myself.

So what do you think dear readers? You’re the ones who always tell me to keep writing and ask me for most posts…shall I take up the challenge?

I kinda already signed up…

…not that there’s a repercussion for not completing the challenge besides my face being mushed on the blogosphere!

But…

even if I fail to write 50,000 words in 30 days, the challenge would bring me that much closer to reaching a goal that I’ve had for a long time.

So,

shall I write a word or two?

9 thoughts on “A Novel Idea…

    • Yeah, you know I have several stories in the workings all in my head. A few partway written down. My process is a mixture of paper, head, iphone, and computer. You think its cheating if I use a story I’ve already begun writing? Thanks for the support Ana! It means the world to me!

  1. 786

    so that is a little less than 2000 words per day….why inshaAllah you can easily write 2000 words just about how you and Noora didn’t have time to catch the bus to go to the library.. You are very gifted inshaAllah and some days you may find that you will just write 17000 words and you will just be getting warmed up. on other days writing the 2000 words may require a little more energy , however you speak and write fluently in 3 languages and your brain works in more languages than that so it isn;t going to be a problem inshaAllah unless you convince yourself it will be a problem…And i have seen you work on your computer and your word processing speed must be well over 200 words per minute so 2000 words will only take you about 10 or 15 minutes to write after you have composed them…Yes inshaAllah this will be easy for you .. hard for some however you won’t even break a sweat…May Allah Bless you and forgive us all for all of our sins…past , present ,and future…known and unknown…big and small…as you strive to please Him…

    786

    • Wow Dad! That’s exactly what I needed to hear, mash’Allah! Jazak Allahu khair! Insh’Allah I can do it!!! Amin to your du’as! Great strategy to think of it as a little bit a day and a great reminder to focus myself to please Allah! Alhamdulillah!

  2. Of course you can Insha’Allah. Even if it is not the finished product in 30 days you will have a draft to continue working on. What a great way to get started!

  3. You are a great writer and I look forward to reading everything you write. Allah has blessed you with a talent that I feel you should keep using. May Allah make it easy for you to meet your goal and may your writing continue to entertain, teach, and inspire us.

  4. Thank you all for the overwhelmingly positive response! So…you’ve made up my mind and I’m going to do Nano…but unlike Nano’s main focus on writing for writing’s sake and word count, I’m going to try to get one of these novel projects off the backburner and running into a publishable manuscript insh’Allah! So if you don’t hear anything from me in November on the blog, here’s notice that you’ve been forewarned! 🙂

Leave a Reply

