Back to Basics

It’s Sunday today. We haven’t even been home for 24 hours yet, but we must go shopping. We emptied our refrigerator clean before we left. And though family members cooked food for us to eat, we’ve had enough of eating the same meal three times a day and eating dinner food for breakfast. What we want is some waffles, eggs, and hash browns! So we made our way to the nearby halal restaurant that serves breakfast. Yum!

Then we needed to go shopping for the basic stash to keep us through the week…eggs, milk, bread…hmmmm….we added pita, hummus, cucumbers, and tomatoes to the list. Some things grew on us. I have a craving for my Jerusalem breakfast of eggs, pita, hummus, and chopped cucumbers and tomatoes for breakfast everyday. We only seemed to get a few things at the grocery store, but yikes! The bill had me thinking whether I could bargain it down in shekels. How I miss Jerusalem!

Even Noora craved her Jerusalem breakfast!

3 bell peppers for $5?! I can get 10 for $2.50 in Ramallah!

you know, Safeway, I could get this much potatoes for a dollar cheaper in Jerusalem…and the produce would be fresh…today’s harvest, in fact!

2 thoughts on “Back to Basics

  1. Salaams Dear:

    I give BAGS of peppers away to the neighbors for free from my garden during the summer! I also have bags of them in my freezer. Weird how much things cost. Some things are cheaper in the US, but other things are not.

Leave a Reply

